Almost perfect Cinnamon Rolls has me sayin OMG-in-SC

picture010

I had to take a little “bunny-trail” trip this afternoon after work.  I am a notorious sucker for bakeries…any kind of bakery, the more ethnic the better I like it…but that is another post for another day.

Well, on my bunny-trail-trip this afternoon I had to go to pick up a prescription at “Old Town” Mount Pleasant SC.  I had never been there before, in fact, didn’t even know a place called “old town” existed in Mt Pleasant, SC.

It was adorable, quaint with narrow streets, funky parking though and the narrow streets are such that only one vehicle at a time can get through and the parking is not parallel, but horizontal, facing the opposite way from where I was coming. So I made my own parking place, swept out of my car and walked with confidence and purpose down the street to my appointed destination; hoping against hope that I didn’t have a “quaint” parking ticket waiting for me when I returned.  I wish I had had a little more time to explore this short but intriguing street. It looked like it had been plucked out of a 40’s era picture show, in fact I was sure I was gonna see Sheriff Andy and Opie walking down the street with their fishin poles!

However, one had to look past the modern cars parked vertically on the street…well by now you’re reading this going, um…where do the cinnamon rolls come in…please be patient whilst I “set the stage” for their illustrious appearance!

So I walked into this pharmacy named Pitt Pharmacy, and I was literally transformed back in time to an old soda fountain lunch counter, with old wooden floor, old fashion shelves, the whole works and it was fabulous!  I walked up to the counter, the owner/pharmacists must have seen my impatience playing across my face and my body language SCREAMED I’M IN S HURRY…side bar: This is in retrospect, but I wish I had just gone with the moment, lived that minute in time to its fullest…end side bar…

The Pharmacist came out from the counter and brought me my cream concoction & patiently and kindly with a smile explained what it was, how to use it and said, “you have a wonderful evening.” I paid for my purchase and hurried out the doo afraid of what I would find when I returned to my wonky-parked car…however, a BAKERY had caught my eye on the way to the pharmacy, and so  I stopped…it was again, old fashion looking with very high counters and a case full of yummies…I chose the cinnamon rolls…two of them piled high with creamy dreamy frosting.  The person who waited on me at “The Village Bakery” was pleasant and very helpful. I told him that the rolls looked so good that they might not make it to breakfast the next morning.

When I got home, I took them out of their box and placed them on a plate to take a picture of them, see above.  I took a taste of the frosting, it tastes like cream cheese French butter cream…it is divine w/o being too sweet.

The cost for two huge cinnamon rolls at The Village Bakery? $4.42. I have paid that much for one at other bakeries. Please if you are in the neighborhood stop in at the Village Bakery

Leave a Reply

