Salt Kissed Potatoes the Spanish way

Anyone familiar with me understands why I consider myself “The Political Chef”. This is one of the reasons why I fit that moniker so well, how that will play when I get my JD is anyone’s guess….enjoy the article. I’m a potato LOVER (Celtic ancestry) and will go out of my way for the salty little gems made with fingerling potatoes and coarse salt that I roast, this is even a neater idea!

A new wrinkle on potatoes
In the Spanish Canary Islands, potatoes are cooked in heavily salted water to yield spuds crusted in salt, with wrinkled skin and intense potato flavor. More than 45 types of potatoes are grown there, and they are typically served with fish, and red or green salsa.

Los Angeles Times

excerpted from “ProChef SmartBrief ”

Leave a Reply

